Recircle Awards 2022 Names Nominations Committee


Valebridge Media Services (VMS), the organiser of the 2022 Recircle Awards, the tyre industry awards programme recognising exceptional achievements in terms of sustainability within the tyre retreading and recycling sectors, have revealed the list of members of the Nominations Committee for the 2022 event.

Advisory Panel Extended to 15 Members with Increased Global Representation Assured across the Tyre Retreading and Recycling Sectors

The specially constituted committee, consisting of the respective editors of Retreading Business and Tyre & Rubber Recycling plus a further thirteen individuals from the global tyre retreading and recycling industries selected according to their independent status and their acknowledged expertise within their respective fields, is made up as follows:


David Wilson Publisher, Retreading Business and Tyre & Rubber Recycling

Committee Members

Emanuel Bertalot Director of the Recycling Committee of the Latin American Society for Rubber Technology

Wilma Dierkes Associate Professor Sustainable Elastomer Systems (SES), University of Twente

Guido Gambassi Vice-Secretary of the Italian Retreaders Association (AIRP)

Antony Powath President of PIN 365, Publisher of Tyre Trends

Daniel Rojas Enos General Manager of the Chilean Association for Tyre Retreading and Renovation (ARNEC).

Liana Shaw Publisher and Editor of SA TREADS Digital

Michael Schwaemmlein Technical Director of the German Tyre Dealers and Vulcanisers’ Association (BRV) and Technical Secretary BIPAVER

Ewan Scott Editor, Tyre & Rubber Recycling

Mary Sikora President at Recycling Research Institute, Publisher of Scrap Tire News

David Stevens Managing Director, Tire Retread Information Bureau

Mary Tang Editor of The Tyreman

Vladislav Vorotnikov Editorial Contributor, Retreading Business and Tyre & Rubber Recycling

Martin von Wolfersdorff, Wolfersdorff Consulting Berlin

Dave Zielasko VP Marketing and Communications, Tire Industry Association

Committee Sees Larger Role in Extended Voting Process

The role of the Nominations Committee will be to select a shortlist of five candidates for each of the 14 awards for which the voting process will be open to the general public. The Committee will select their shortlist from the many nominations currently being received and will base their judgement on the number of nominations received, the strength of the supporting arguments given by the nominating parties, as well their own expert knowledge of the individual nominees.

Nominations for the Recircle Awards will close on November 5, 2021, and the shortlist will be announced on December 1, 2021.

We are pleased to be able to announce a strong and respected team of international judges for the second edition of the Recircle Awards,” commented David Wilson, Chairman of the Nominations Committee and Publisher of Retreading Business and Tyre & Rubber Recycling. “Although we were delighted with the response to the inaugural event, we are continually looking to improve the nominations and voting system, so we have made a few small changes in order to strengthen the international balance of the Nominations Committee and optimise the robustness of the voting process.

With this in mind, we have increased the size of the Nominations Committee from ten to fifteen people and increased the geographical spread of committee members. We are pleased to say that we now have a truly global panel with members hailing from North and South America, Europe, Africa, Russia, India and South-East Asia.

This year, we have also allocated a 30% share of the votes to the Nominations Committee in order to provide an increased balance of informed expert opinion from across the sector, whilst maintaining the role of the event as an opportunity for retreaders, recyclers, suppliers, customers and members of the general public to have their say on the contribution made by our nominees to the sustainability of the tyre retreading and recycling sectors. We wish all nominees the very best of luck in the 2022 Recircle Awards.”

VMS has also paid tribute to Valerie Shulman, winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award in the Tyre Recycling Sector in the 2021 Recircle Awards and a member of last year’s Nominations Committee.

Valerie made a huge contribution to the international tyre recycling sector during her career, and her Lifetime Achievement Award was well-deserved,” said David Wilson. “She was also an invaluable member of the Nominations Committee and played a major role in assuring the success of the inaugural Recircle Awards. She will be very sadly missed.”

About the author

Adrian, located in Madrid, is joining the editorial team as a correspondent for the Valebridge Publications Ltd Group. Before starting in 2020 for Retreading Business, Adrian graduated with an English degree before working within marketing and recruitment in the non-profit sector. Recently he changed direction, undertaking a course in Marketing and International Business as a means towards moving into the journalism field, which he counts as his lifelong ambition.


Phone: (44) 1270 668 718

Make sure you don't miss a single issue

Click here to subscribe and we'll make sure of it.